You are here


Standards are technical specifications defining requirements for products, production processes, services or test-methods. These specifications are voluntary and are developed by industry and market actors following some basic principles such as consensus, openness, transparency and non-discrimination. Standards ensure interoperability and safety, reduce costs and facilitate companies’ integration in the value chain and trade.

European Standards are under the responsibility of the European Standardisation Organisations:

  • the European Committee for Standardisation, CEN
  • the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardisation, CENELEC, and
  • the European Telecommunications Standards Institute, ETSI

and can be used to support EU legislation and policies.

Smart grids and standardization

In March 2011, the European Commission and EFTA issued the Smart Grid Mandate M/490 (download here) which was accepted by the three European Standards Organizations (ESOs), CEN, CENELEC and ETSI in June 2011. This mandate highlights the following key points: the need for speedy action, the need to accomodate a huge number of stakeholders and to work in a context where many activities are international.

M/490 requests CEN, CENELEC and ETSI to develop a framework to enable ESOs to perform continuous standard enhancement and development in the smart grid field. These reports and additional information on the Smart Grids standardization activities are available on the CEN-CENELEC website.

Copyright © 2013 - SmartGrids - European Technology Platform. All rights reserved.

Cell phone tracking software download mobile